I really like the design of the fitted dress from the late 14th century. It’s a fitted self supportive dress that gives just the right silhouette. The technique is a lot about draping and although I’ve made a few for some of the women in the shire I’ve always had a bit of a struggle to make them for myself.

Now, thanks to the wonderful Mistress Mathilde (www.mathildegirlgenius.com) I’m getting a pattern just for me. She’s working on perfecting the art of fitting by measurements only. I’m in total ave of her ability and I’m really looking forward to see how the pattern works. Lia (http://liadethornegge.livejournal.com/) has already received her pattern and the mock-up looks great!

This is really inspiring me to get started on my projects again – a smocked apron is number one on that list!

Cristina and Biorn at Double Wars 2006

Cristina and Biorn at Double Wars 2006

