That weaving inspiration I talked about the other week is still here! About a week ago I went out in our shed and came back in with one of my ribbon looms (yep, I confess – I have three…). Dug out an old half finished silk warp that I stuffed in a box about a year ago and voilá – I’m weaving again!

I’m so excited about it that I even got around to start making a weaving page here on the blog. Look in the upper right corner. The plan is to add new as well as a couple of finished projects there in the future.

Back to the current project. It’s a silk braid based on a braid found in London, dated to the 14th century. The plan is to make garters as a symbol for the Order of the Golden Ribbon here in Nordmark. It’s an award for service and usually comes with a somewhat (in my opinion) weird looking black chain with a golden ribbon (like the one you use to hold your curtains) in it. I never got one when I got my award so a while back I though I’d make my own attempt to a more period looking symbol of the award.

Ribbon loom with a tablet woven silk warp.

Ribbon loom with a tablet woven silk warp.

