Cow Parsley - photo by JoY74 at flickr.com

Cow Parsley - photo by JoY74 at flickr.com

Last week I finally got around to try out some dyeing with the silk I pre-mordated. I wanted to try something simple and inexpensive so I went out in the garden and gathered some Cow Parsley Anthriscus sylvestris (sv: Hundkex).  Then I put the flowers in a pot with water and let it boil for at least an hour.

The silk should never be treated at a temperature over 70 °C so I let the water cool to that temperature before I put the silk in. I dyed a 9 gram skein, sufficient enough for a fist try. The silk was left in the pot at 70 °C for an hour and then I let it cool for a while. The silk was rinsed in water and then in vinegar water to really get the shine of the silk. You should pour as much vinegar in the water that it tastes sour but not so much that you make a sour face when tasting it!

Silk and Cow Parsley in water.

Silk and Cow Parsley in water.

The silk turn out pretty enough with a lemony-yellow colour. I’m gonna make some thread winders to wind it on and then use it to sew with (it’s very thin).

Silk dyed with Cow Parsley

Silk dyed with Cow Parsley

