way back… finishing the edges with tablet weaving

Schhh… did you hear that? Yep, it’s the sound of a new post being published at Cristina’s ramblings.

It’s been a while, two daughters “got in the way” of any desire or time to write anything here. I have made a few items since I last made a post so I thought I’d start slow and post a few photos and write a little about it. Here is the first one:

The first project for my wooden tablets that I got in October 2011 was to finish the edges of my first Herjolfsnäs gown with tablet weaving. As you can see in the picture I used two tablets and 4 warp threads. They are threaded in diagonal holes and it’s important to do one S-tablet and one Z-tablet otherwise the ribbon just want to twist. I used so yellow dyed (probably birch) wool yarn from my stash.

The finished result!

The pictures are from my Instagram feed so they are a bit fuzzy.

8 thoughts on “way back… finishing the edges with tablet weaving

Add yours

  1. I simply continued weaving for a couple of cm then I turned the loose end over on the inside of the sleeve and sewed it in place. At the elbow I did the same and sewed the loose end along the sleeve seam. Does it make any sense?

  2. That makes some sense. Did you work the threads from the weaving back into the weaving?

  3. No, I just wind a piece of linen thread around the end. Cut away the excess weaving yarn and sew the end along the sleeve edge. I tried to take a picture but the yellow wool didn’t photograph well. Hopefully I’ll be able to make a sample tutorial of the whole thing.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑