way back… shoes

In summer 2013 our eldest daughter went with us to Drachenwald Summer Coronation and 20th Anniversary. Besides sewing clothes for her I also made her a pair of turn shoes. I’ve made turn shoes for myself previously but this was my first try making a pair of children’s shoes.

I used this method for constructing the pattern and was fairly pleased with the result. It was a quick project so I took the time to sew hidden seams. Our 1,5 year old was not that interested in fitting the pattern so the shoe is a bit low at the ankle and slips of easily. Lesson learn for the next pair that I’ll make. For the upper I used an elk hide that I had in my stash, it’s to soft for adult shoes as it will stretch to much but it worked well for a children’s shoe. The sole came from a friends stash, a bit thinner than I would use for an adult shoe but I probably wouldn’t have been able to turn the shoe if the sole was thicker.

Foto-2013-05-26-13-56-38
Sewing the upper to the sole.
Foto-2013-06-01-12-29-30
All the seams are done!
Foto-2013-06-01-12-30-01
Wonky seams at the sole.
Foto-2013-06-01-12-38-33
Soaking the shoes before turning them.

We are going to Double Wars in May and unfortunately the shoes are already to small for our youngest daughter. But it was a quick and fun project so I look forward to making a pair each for them with improved changes.

DSCN1937x
Used and slightly stretched.

What is your experience with making and wearing turn shoes?

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑